I grew up in Los Alamos, New Mexico. Went to college at the University of Colorado in Boulder where I would stay to pursue a career as a professional endurance sport athlete. I have always loved the Pacific Northwest, so when the opportunity arose I moved to Bellingham, Washington where I work in project management while continuing to be involved and advocate for the outdoor industry. I also contribute in various organizations within community planning and development, and sustainable living.

As a kid I was raised in a professional drag racing family. We spent much of my youth traveling cross country to races and hanging out at drag strips – which was pretty cool for a kid in the 80s. By the age of 10 I had been to 43 states and seen many of the things we were learning about in school.

I hindsight I wonder if I should have pursued auto racing in some form as I am definitely a car guy. But, auto racing is expensive so I ended up racing bikes, skis, and my feet. Having grown up in New Mexico I’m not sure where my Scandinavian sporting tendencies come from. However, after competing on a National level in running, road cycling, cross country skiing, and mountain biking I went to college on a running scholarship where I earned All-American honors in running and mountain biking. Ultimately I ended up pursuing triathlon, probably because it allowed me to combine all the sports I love.

During my triathlon career I competed globally and in several World Championships, finishing top 10 five times.
Unfortunately my professional athletic career finished unceremoniously as I contracted a viral form of Chronic Fatigue, and was forced to take several years away from sport of any kind. During this time I became active in project management and business development across various sectors: new media, tech, cannabis, outdoor advocacy, as well as home building and renovations. As is the case for many people, 2020 caused a complete upheaval in my life and career.

Currently I am job hunting and eager for normalcy to return.